More programs, more candles, more light.

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

Loading the player ...

Panel 1: The Science of the Sanford Consortium

Edward Holmes, Martin Friedlander, Fred Gage, Lawrence Goldstein, Evan Snyder

November 30, 2011
55 minutes
Edward Holmes, Martin Friedlander, Fred Gage, Lawrence Goldstein, Evan Snyder


Edward Holmes: Dr. Holmes received his M.D. from the University of Pennsylvania. He is the executive deputy chairman of the Biomedical Research Council and chairman of the National Medical Research Council, Singapore in addition to his positions at the Sanford Consortium and UC San Diego. He has served on numerous advisory boards including the National Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases Advisory Council of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the Board of Directors of Tularik and was chair of the Scientific Advisory Board of GlaxoSmithKline. He is a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the Association of American Physicians. He is also a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences.

Martin Friedlander: Dr. Friedlander received his undergraduate education at Bowdoin College where he graduated with highest honors in biology. He completed his Ph.D. at the University of Chicago in the Committee on Developmental Biology and his M.D. at the State University of New York, Downstate Medical Center. He carried out his clinical training in ophthalmology, completing a residency and retina fellowship at the Jules Stein Eye Institute at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). He was on the faculties of Rockefeller University and UCLA prior to joining TSRI and Scripps Memorial Hospital in 1993. Dr. Friedlander has been a scholar of the Sinsheimer Heed Ophthalmic Foundations and the recipient of the Alcon Research Award and Bressler Prize in Vision Research. His research is supported by the National Eye Institute, the MacTel Foundation, the V. Kann Rasmussen Foundation and CIRM. His stem cell related research interests focus on using iPSC derived retinal cells for treating retinal degenerative diseases and understanding the role of adult bone marrow and cord blood-derived hematopoietic stem cells, integrins, matrix metalloproteinases and other extracellular matrix and cellular receptors during angiogenesis. He has also had a long-standing interest in targeting, translocation and integration of polytopic membrane proteins including rhodopsin and sodium-calcium exchangers.

Fred ‘Rusty’ Gage: Dr. Gage received his Ph.D. in 1976 from The Johns Hopkins University. His work concentrates on the adult central nervous system and unexpected plasticity and adaptability to environmental stimulation that remains throughout the life of all mammals. In addition, his studies focus on the cellular, molecular and environmental influences that regulate neurogenesis in the adult. He has won numerous prizes and awards for his work including the IPSEN Prize for Neuroplasticity, the Charles A. Dana Award, Metropolitan Life Research Award and the Keio Medical Science Prize. Dr. Gage serves on many health-related boards, was previously president of the Society for Neuroscience and is the current president of the International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR). He is also a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine, a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, an associate member of the European Molecular Biology Organization and a member of the American Philosophical Society.

Lawrence Goldstein: Dr. Goldstein has been with the UC San Diego School of Medicine since 1993. A UC San Diego alumnus, he received his B.S. in biology and genetics from UC San Diego and his Ph.D. in genetics from the University of Washington, Seattle. Previously, he was a professor at Harvard University in the Department of Cellular and Developmental Biology. His awards include a Senior Scholar Award from the Ellison Medical Foundation, an American Cancer Society Faculty Research Award, election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the 2009 Public Service Award from the American Society for Cell Biology. He has had an active role in national science policy, and served as co-chair of the scientific advisory committee to the campaign for the Proposition 71 stem cell research initiative, which authorizes $3 billion in tax-free state bonds to fund stem cell research in California over 10 years. He is a co-founder of the biotechnology company Cytokinetics, and author of Stem Cells for Dummies.

Evan Snyder: Dr. Snyder earned his M.D. and Ph.D. in neuroscience from the University of Pennsylvania in 1980. He completed residencies in pediatrics and neurology at Children’s Hospital-Boston, Harvard Medical School and postdoctoral research at Harvard Medical School. In 1992, Dr. Snyder was appointed as an instructor in neurology at Harvard Medical School and was promoted to assistant professor in 1996. He is regarded as one of the fathers of the stem cell field, having identified over two decades ago that cells that came to be called stem cells were a source of neural plasticity. He was the first to demonstrate that non-hematopoietic stem cells could mediate cell and gene replacement, home to injury, and perform protective, trophic, pro-regenerative, and anti-inflammatory actions. He was the first to isolate human neural stem cells. In 2003, after 23 years at Harvard, Dr. Snyder was recruited to SBMRI as professor and director of the Stem Cells and Regenerative Biology program.